top of page
>

WELCOME TO

ECHURCH!

 

Echurch is both an online and offline community of followers of Jesus. Subscribe to get the latest articles, devotions, news and research reports.

I Will Not Support Trump: So Who Then?

(On The 2016 United States Presidential Election, Part I)

A needed reminder in these dark days.

:::

A Note on eKerk and Fellow South Africans: The views expressed in this blog series are entirely my own. I know that eKerk’s audience is primarily South African Christians who speak Afrikaans. As an “honorary South African” (married into the family!), I am expressing my conviction about the upcoming United States Presidential election after much thought, prayer, and dialogue with my wife. I am certain that my views do not express the general opinion of all South Africans, let alone South African Christians. However, I am uncomfortably aware that the world is watching the US election with baited breath (as it always does), knowing that the results of this election will directly affect the rest of the world. As an American follower of Jesus living in Cape Town, trying to navigate this election with humility and conviction, I feel compelled to speak up from my small platform, hopefully invoking prayer and considered reflection for the good of all. My great hope is that you would consider my words with this spirit of searching reflection, regardless of ‘where you land,’ and that as a result, we would love our neighbours all the more deeply as a result.

Hopeful for the continued restoration of all things,

Chris Kamalski

:::

I stand with my friend Mike Erre, lead pastor of Vox Christian Community, Vox Podcast host, and

former ROCKHarbor teaching pastor back in the day.

I cannot – and will not – support Donald Trump in the 2016 United States presidential election.

He is stoking the very worst in us, and as a follower of Jesus, I've had enough.

Trump's way is not the upside-down Kingdom reality of loving one's neighbour before one's self. It is not about listening, seeking to understand, and responding with love and mercy. It is certainly not the example of Jesus, who disarmed his best friend and healed a member of a mob as he was being arrested.

Trump’s way is about the demonisation of the other, the (literal) building of walls between humanity. His way invokes using fear to fuel the consolidation of power as a means to be noticed and adored. I truly wonder if his insecurity magnified over decades has culminated in this latest presidential run, run, and if the perfect storm of American evangelicalism fully embracing its ‘victimisation’ in popular culture is culminating in this awkward, immoral, ugly marriage between a demagogue and a faith community desperately seeking power in the veiled cloak of Christian nationalism. Albeit harsh words towards both sides, I cannot stay silent, as the Christian church has historically acted the least like Jesus when it held the greatest amount of power directly in its hands. This cannot be accidental happenstance, and committed followers of the way of Jesus – the Prince of Peace! – who seek the restoration of God’sKingdom for the good of all must not remain silent, regardless the ‘personal cost.’

I completely understand the dilemma a lot of my conservative evangelical Christian friends find themselves in, unable to support Hilary Clinton for a variety of reasons, some more valid than others, whether found in policy positions, political ideology, moral differences, or even simply ‘not liking her’ for some reason. Regarding this last reason: I would challenge everyone to look deep within themselves and ask why they cannot support Clinton (or any other candidate, for that matter), making sure that prejudice is not fuelling this choice either, but rather substantial difference, which is understandable. I have no ‘golden ticket’ to offer you, and watch this election from afar with this rest of the world, mouth agape.

If somewhere in this mess is where you find yourself, I ask you a difficult question: What voting decision do you need to make this November 8th, that would honour the name of Jesus and keep your conscience clean in the best possible manner?

Our world is screaming for wise, stable, ethical, merciful leadership.

Your voice as a follower of Jesus can be a key antidote to this cry.

I am praying for your discernment and for our country in this critical hour.

Written in Love as an American follower of Jesus, living in Cape Town, trying to navigate this election,

- Chris Kamalski

:::

“Dear World,

Myself, and many of my fellow Christians, are adamantly opposed to Trump and what he stands for.

HE DOES NOT SPEAK FOR US.

I simply cannot, in good conscience, vote for someone whose platform appeals to our basest fears.

You would think that following a Rabbi who conquered death would cause Christians to be the least

afraid people on the planet, and the last ones to be taken in by fear. I am ashamed of Trump's boast that evangelical Christians are a large part of his success.

Instead of political activism based on faith, hope and love, many of my brothers and sisters have opted for fear, threat, and scarcity.

I have never – ever – publicly stood for or against a candidate – but evangelicalism's wholesale embrace of Trump demands countering voices. We lose the ability to speak the reality of hope into the world when the world sees us so fearfully and viciously protect our comfort, security, and wealth, compromising our convictions simply because some say Trump is the lesser of two evils.”

:::

FOLLOW US:
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Vimeo Clean
  • Google Clean
  • Instagram Clean
bottom of page