top of page
>

WELCOME TO

ECHURCH!

 

Echurch is both an online and offline community of followers of Jesus. Subscribe to get the latest articles, devotions, news and research reports.

I’ve Stopped Managing God’s Diary


Sometimes my prayers are nothing other than pious submissions of my own plans to God. In

actuality, they are often subtle commands with a whole list of demands of exactly how and when

things should happen. Frequently, I am so busy communicating all my own needs to God, telling

Him all the things that He should do for me that I forget to worship Him unconditionally. Far too

many times I try to stay in control of things, filling God’s diary with endless requests and

prescriptive prayers.

What a mistake!

True prayer is in reality, being out of control. It is to trust God with everything. It is to confess

that everything I am and everything I have comes from Him – that He alone is in control of

my life. True prayer is to empty myself of me. My prayers dare not be subtle attempts to regulate

God’s calendar and activities. And so I encourage you to come before Him with childlike faith

submitting to His will in a fresh way today. I desire to kneel before Him today without condition

or prescription, dependent and full of wonder in the work of God in and through my life!

FOLLOW US:
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Vimeo Clean
  • Google Clean
  • Instagram Clean
bottom of page